2012 Holidays In The Philippines

courtesy of dearbloggery.com

 

President Noynoy Aquino signed Proclamation No. 295 last November 24, 2011 outlining the official holidays in the Philippines for the 2012.  In the said proclamation, this year’s CHINESE NEW YEAR celebration on January 23 was also declared a non-working holiday.  It stated:  “The  Spring Festival, popularly known as the Chinese New Year, is one of the most revered and festive events celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines by both Chinese Filipinos and ordinary Filipinos as well; and the joint celebration is a manifestation of our solidarity with our Chinese Filipino brethren who have been part of our lives in many respects as a country and as a people.” 

The only long weekend as a result of a Philippine holiday happens on Friday, November 2, 2012 which falls between Thursday, November 1, 2012 (All Saints Day) and Saturday.

The following regular holidays and special days for the year 2012 shall be observed in the country:

A. Regular Holidays

  • New Year’s Day, January 1 (Sunday)
  • Maundy Thursday, April 5
  • Good Friday, April 6
  • Araw ng Kagitingan, April 9 (Monday)
  • Labor Day, May 1 (Tuesday)
  • Independence Day, June 12 (Tuesday)
  • National Heroes Day, August 27 (Last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day, November 30 (Friday)
  • Christmas Day, December 25 (Tuesday)
  • Rizal Day, December 30 (Sunday)

B. Special (Non-Working) Days

  • Chinese New Year, January 23 (Monday)
  • Ninoy Aquino Day, August 21 (Tuesday
  • All Saints Day, November 1 (Thursday)
  • Additional special (non-working) day, November 2 (Friday)
  • Last Day of the Year, December 31 (Monday)

C. Special Holidays (for all schools)

  • EDSA Revolution Anniversary, February 25 (Saturday)

20111124-PROC-0295-BSA

Related Posts with Thumbnails

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Are you smarter than a 5th grader? *
Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

CommentLuv badge