Proclamation 84 Lists Official Holidays in 2011

P-Noy with Rafael, son of Education Undersecretary Francisco Varela

By issuing Proclamation 84, President Noynoy Aquino declared the official holidays for the year 2011 and thereby removing the sometimes problematic “holiday economics” of the  Arroyo administration.  Holiday economics is, of course, the practice of moving the holiday to the nearest Monday to have longer weekends which was covered by Republic Act 9492.

I just hope that there won’t be any boo-boo following this proclamation.  Here are the official holidays in 2011:

A. Regular Holidays

  • New Year’s Day – January 1 (Saturday)
  • Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Saturday)
  • Maundy Thursday – April 21
  • Good Friday – April 22
  • Labor Day – May 1 (Sunday)
  • Independence Day – June 12 (Sunday)
  • National Heroes Day – August 29 (Last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Wednesday)
  • Christmas Day – December 25 (Sunday)
  • Rizal Day – December 30 (Friday)

B. Special (Non-Working) Days

  • Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Sunday)
  • All Saints Day – November 1 (Tuesday)
  • Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Saturday)

C. Special Holiday (for all schools)

  • EDSA Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Friday)

Proclamation 84 further states that:  “Proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of Eid’l Fitr and Eidul AdhaHijra, or the lunar calendar, or upon Islamic astronomical calculations, whichever is possible or convenient, will be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in accordance with the Islamic calendar.”

Here are copies of Proclamation 84.  Big thanks to Gilbert Tan for the heads up.

Related Posts with Thumbnails